Denise Okafor

Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Denise Okafor

Research Summary

Structural mechanisms of signaling and regulation in protein complexes.

Huck Affiliations


Publication Tags

These publication tags are generated from the output of this researcher. Click any tag below to view other Huck researchers working on the same topic.

Ligands Proteins Cytoplasmic And Nuclear Receptors Liver Rna Steroid Receptors Protein Iron Enzymes Agonist Dna Steroid Transcription Factors Catalysis Hormone Dna Binding Proteins Alkylation Plasmodium Phospholipids Parasites Glucocorticoid Receptors Electrons Antimalarials Ligand Crystal Structure

Most Recent Publications

The nuclear receptor LRH-1 discriminates between ligands using distinct allosteric signaling circuits.

S Mays, D Hercules, E Ortlund, Chiamaka Okafor, 2023, Protein science : a publication of the Protein Society on p. e4754

Ericka D. Surrett, Kirsten R. Guckes, Shyan Cousins, Terry B. Ruskoski, Andrew G. Cecere, Denise A. Ludvik, C. Denise Okafor, Mark J. Mandel, Tim I. Miyashiro, 2023, eLife

Identification of an Evolutionarily Conserved Allosteric Network in Steroid Receptors

Namita Dube, Sabab Hasan Khan, Riley Sasse, C. Denise Okafor, 2023, Journal of Chemical Information and Modeling on p. 571-582

Interactions governing transcriptional activity of nuclear receptors

Sabab Hasan Khan, C. Denise Okafor, 2022, Biochemical Society Transactions on p. 1941-1952

Timothy James Russell, Erandi K. De Silva, Valerie M. Crowley, Kathryn Shaw-Saliba, Namita Dube, Gabrielle Josling, Charisse Flerida A. Pasaje, Irene Kouskoumvekaki, Gianni Panagiotou, Jacquin C. Niles, Marcelo Jacobs-Lorena, C. Denise Okafor, Francisco Javier Gamo, Manuel Llinás, 2022, PLoS Pathogens

Suzanne G. Mays, Emma H. D'Agostino, Autumn R. Flynn, Xiangsheng Huang, Guohui Wang, Xu Liu, Elizabeth J. Millings, C. Denise Okafor, Anamika Patel, Michael L. Cato, Jeffery L. Cornelison, Diana Melchers, René Houtman, David D. Moore, John W. Calvert, Nathan T. Jui, Eric A. Ortlund, 2022, Cell Chemical Biology on p. 1174-1186.e7

Structural and Biophysical Mechanisms Driving Differential Hormone Response in Steroid Receptors

Sabab H. Khan, Sean M. Braet, Stephen J. Koehler, Elizabeth Elacqua, Ganesh S. Anand, Denise Okafor, 2022, FASEB Journal

Ligand Specificity in Progesterone Receptor

Namita Dube, Denise C. Okafor, 2022, FASEB Journal

Nathaniel R. Braffman, Terry B. Ruskoski, Katherine M. Davis, Nathaniel R. Glasser, Cassidy Johnson, C. Denise Okafor, Amie K. Boal, Emily P. Balskus, 2022, eLife

Ancestral sequence reconstruction for evolutionary characterization of proteins

Namita Dube, Sabab H. Khan, C. Denise Okafor, 2022, Trends in Biochemical Sciences on p. 98-99

Most-Cited Papers

RNA with iron(II) as a cofactor catalyses electron transfer

Chiaolong Hsiao, I. Chun Chou, C. Denise Okafor, Jessica C. Bowman, Eric B. O'neill, Shreyas S. Athavale, Anton S. Petrov, Nicholas V. Hud, Roger M. Wartell, Stephen C. Harvey, Loren Dean Williams, 2013, Nature Chemistry on p. 525-528

Bile acids and the gut microbiota: metabolic interactions and impacts on disease

S Collins, Jonathan Stine, Jordan E. Bisanz, C. Denise Okafor, D Okafor, A Patterson, 2022, Nature Reviews Microbiology on p. 236-47

M McBride, S Pope, K Hu, C. Denise Okafor, C Denise Okafor, E Balskus, J Bollinger, J. Martin Bollinger, Amie K. Boal, 2021, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America

Burak Gulen, Anton S. Petrov, C. Denise Okafor, Drew Vander Wood, Eric B. O'Neill, Nicholas V. Hud, Loren Dean Williams, 2016, Scientific Reports

C. Denise Okafor, Manish C. Pathak, Crystal E. Fagan, Nicholas C. Bauer, Megan F. Cole, Eric A. Gaucher, Eric A. Ortlund, 2018, Structure with Folding & design on p. 118-129.e3

Suzanne G. Mays, C. Denise Okafor, Richard J. Whitby, Devrishi Goswami, Józef Stec, Autumn R. Flynn, Michael C. Dugan, Nathan T. Jui, Patrick R. Griffin, Eric A. Ortlund, 2016, Journal of Biological Chemistry on p. 25281-25291

Suzanne G. Mays, Autumn R. Flynn, Jeffery L. Cornelison, C. Denise Okafor, Hongtao Wang, Guohui Wang, Xiangsheng Huang, Heather N. Donaldson, Elizabeth J. Millings, Rohini Polavarapu, David D. Moore, John W. Calvert, Nathan T. Jui, Eric A. Ortlund, 2019, Journal of Medicinal Chemistry on p. 11022-11034

C. Denise Okafor, Kathryn A. Lanier, Anton S. Petrov, Shreyas S. Athavale, Jessica C. Bowman, Nicholas V. Hud, Loren Dean Williams, 2017, Nucleic Acids Research on p. 3634-3642

Emily R. Weikum, C. Denise Okafor, Emma H. D'Agostino, Jennifer K. Colucci, Eric A. Ortlund, 2017, Molecular Pharmacology on p. 12-21