The Huck Institutes of the Life Sciences

Planning Committee Members

Our planning committee consists of motivated graduate students and postdoctoral scholars who want to promote collaboration and communication among the life science discipline at Penn State.

2018 Planning Committee

This year, the Life Science Symposium is being organized by Huck Graduate Student Advisory Committee (HGSAC).

Back Row (from left): Mackenzie Shipley, James Hester, Cassandra Beck, Di (Bruce) Chen, Mehreen Mughal, Ahmad Taha, Hillary Figler

Front Row (from left): Lila Rieber, Kelly Ness, Cesar De Jeronimo, Jasmine Caulfield


2017 Planning Committee:


Jennifer Legault (Neuroscience) & Karla Piedl (BMMB)



Hillary Figler (MCIBS) - Past President

Colleen McSweeney (Neuroscience)

Kelly Ness (Physiology)

Naomi Yamada (MCIBS)


Adwitia (Tia) Dey (Physiology)


Lingzi Xiaoli (Postdoc- Food Science)


Bruno Saconi (Nursing)


Shu Wei (Postdoc- Biology)

Alexis Baxter (Chemistry)


Henry Hsiung (BMMB)


Chris Strock (Plant Biology)


Rachel Walker (Nutrition)





Kristin Cox